With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.  The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. – 2 Peter 3:8 -9 (NIV)

*   *   *

God may be patient, but I’m not. (OK, there are a number of things I keep putting off, but that’s different. I have my reasons.) But as a professional journalist, I’ve worked under relentless deadlines. There’s never enough time in a day for what I’ve hoped to accomplish, on or off the job. I still want results, all the same.

Repentance, we should note, means “turning,” and that can be either a drastic change in direction or a subtle course correction.

Put these concepts together, and I’m cautioned not to rush through the work at hand but to allow it to unfold as I engage it. I’m also reminded there’s a Big Picture that each day plays within, and there’s no excuse to be lazy (the Lord is, after all, watching).

Maybe in the end the results aren’t as important as all the caring and devotion we can instill along the way.

*   *   *

As ’tis written Genesis, The Lord appeared unto Abraham, saying, I am the Almighty God, walk before me, and be thou perfect. (Elizabeth Bathurst, 1655?-1685)

Leave a Reply

