Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. – Psalm 46:10

*   *   *

Familiarity with the Bible helps us understand the language and the references of early Quakers. There have been times in my vocal ministry in which people have become upset because they did not understand or recognize that I was quoting early Friends and/or Scripture.

*   *   *

I didn’t grow up in a Bible-thumping household. Sure, we had one, but it wasn’t read regularly, as far as I could see. Actually, we didn’t have many books of any kind, other than the Reader’s Digest Condensed Editions, later.

Even though mine was a regular church-going family, with a grandfather who boasted of reading the Bible from cover to cover five times, I grew up fairly Biblically illiterate. Quoting scripture and verse was definitely not in my background.

As for stillness, forget it. The television was on, morning to evening.

*   *   *

In the first Place, this Principle, of which I am now writing, ’tis the Grace of God that bringeth Salvation, and hath appeared unto all Men, teaching us, that denying Ungodliness and Worldly Lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly in this present World, as saith the Apostle. (Elizabeth Bathurst, 1655?-1685)

Leave a Reply

