They that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. –  Isaiah 40:31

*   *   *

I could tell you of my many instances of seeing American bald eagles as well as golden eagles, all of them thrilling. Even when I’ve gone places where I know eagles are present, their appearance is always a surprise. Even the one winter when a pair settled along the river I passed daily, their presence – often on a branch over the water – was a gift to anticipate; and then, one day, they were gone, back to the high mountains, I presume.

The practice of waiting upon the Lord may resemble those encounters. There’s always the element of the unexpected – there will be days, after all, when there are no eagles, though many other birds may be seen. But there are also those moments when the eagle comes up inside of us, taking us into flight, showing us new perspectives. The quietude, then, can also be thrilling.

I love, too, the poetic leap from rising on wings to the experience of running and then walking forcefully. Nothing faint or half-hearted in any of that.

*   *   *

And this was it the Apostle James desired, viz. that those to whom he wrote, might be perfect and entire, lacking nothing. (Elizabeth Bathurst, 1655?-1685)

3 thoughts on “First Month 17

  1. Wonderful. This time of year, every once in a while, I’m surprised by the Am. Bald Eagle and that moment is thrilling, and the relationship you represent here is so true. Well done.

    1. This is one of the Biblical texts I always hear accompanied by music, in this case a wonderful praise song. Do you know it? It adds a line, “Help me Lord, help me Lord, to wait.”
      Makes me think, too, of a member of the Church of the Brethren I knew years back who said if everything were set to music he’d be able to remember the entire Bible.

      1. I do not know that song – and that’s a shame, I’m sure it is beautiful – the words would make it so. I believe many people relate to your friends sentiments on music – and within the Brethren and Mennonite communities their harmony is stunning, truly beautiful. I went to an Amish wedding dinner a few years back – they sang their prayers, so beautiful, the old and the young – and there I sad “English,” trying not to cry in front of a bunch of strangers :).

Leave a Reply

