…  May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. … – John 17:22-26 (NIV)

*   *   *

For many years, the Bible was a closed book to me – try as I might, it wouldn’t speak. Wouldn’t speak to my condition, until I yielded. Or, more accurately, yielded to Christ’s love. And then I discovered how the much words are an integral part of our culture, our aspirations of justice and peace. Our language, story, structure, thought. There is the candor of human failings, aspirations – kings are held up to ridicule. In some ways, it may even be a compost heap – rich and growing – each time you dig in!

So how does love work? How are we transformed? How do we come to unity in God’s glory?

But I express this from a Christian perspective.

The words can be no less true from others. Everything here begins in Universal Love, waiting to be made complete.

*   *   *

And to this we are commanded by Christ under the New Testament, whose Words are thus recorded, Be ye therefore perfect, as your Father which is in Heaven is perfect. (Elizabeth Bathurst, 1655?-1685)

Leave a Reply

