You do not have, because you do not ask. – James 4:2

*   *   *

More to the point, because we do not listen.

Still, I’ve always found it difficult to express what’s really going on in my emotions, much less voice my truest desires or most tender losses.

Articulating them at least gets them out in the open, for consideration. They lose their selfish edge, as well. The people closest to me can even reflect on my yearnings and struggle.

As I raise them to the Light, I finally have them. The question now becomes, Do I need to keep them?

*   *   *

Therefore, right glad are the Hearts of many, that ever they heard this joyful Sound, Retire to the inward Grace; thereby signifying to them, where Help is to be had, who were seeking Salvation from the Hills and from the Mountains, yet laboured but in vain; but in Returning and in Rest, they have found themselves saved, according to the Word of the Lord by the Prophet. (Elizabeth Bathurst, 1655?-1685)

 

Leave a Reply

